To give another deviant a direct link to this FAQ answer, use the following code in your comment or forum post:
I deleted items in my Message Centre and they all came back, why is this?
When deleting items in your message centre it is important to let the "Saving" bar finish loading before moving from your message centre. If you are deleting large amounts of messages at a time, you should wait a few moments after the "Saving" bar has finished just to make certain the server has processed your request.
If you have waited for this bar to finish loading and the problem still persists, please try temporarily disabling any extensions, software firewalls or anti virus software you may have to see if this fixes the issue for you first before contacting the +help for help.